The new Goethes Erben album "Dazwischen" (Release Date: October 10, 2005)

Order at :
[Amazon] [Wonderland] [InfraRot]

1. Prolog zu einem Märchen (3:59)
2. Tage des Wassers (3:24)
3. Jasmintee (3:46)
4. Alptraumstudio (3:57)
5. Negativmaske (6:12)
6. Opfer statt Wahrheit (3:53)
7. Schattendenken (6:16)
8. Tag nach einer traumreichen Nacht (4:04)
9. Kopfstimme (5:59)
10. Lebend lohnt es (3:26)
11. Dazwischen (4:00)
12. Schwarzes Wesen (5:20)
13. Zwischenzeit (4:18)

Most fairytales begin with the words "Once upon a time, there was..."; in the musical play "Schattendenken", the lonely main character begins the fairytale with the hopeful words: "Once upon a time, there will be..." . Hope gives people the strength to hang on during some of those not-so-pleasant moments. After all, there are two sides to many situations in life. The death of one person, for example, may extend the life of someone else, or give it a new quality. The heart of a child who has died can give new hope to the parents of a fatally ill child waiting for a transplantation; but at the same time, the parents who lose their child suffer a horrible kind of loss that can tear apart even the strongest of families. The fairytale about a black swan and a white angel deals with the subject of give and take; that it’s sometimes necessary to give away or give up something after realizing that it’s no longer needed. This fairytale is told in the songs "Prolog zu einem Märchen" and "Tage des Wassers". They are the intellectual children of a person who has lost everything else in life.

What remains are certain memories and the pleasant thoughts that these memories bring ("Jasmintee"). Sometimes people cling to the past in order to avoid dealing with the present. But the ghosts of the past always return ("Alptraumstudio") to scare away off the pleasant memories with bitter arctic landscapes and empty white rooms. Eventually, all that remains is the mask of a melting face print in the snow ("Negativmaske"). Time holds its breath and everything of the past and future is compressed into one single moment of truth - but is there really any significance to this truth or is self-sacrifice (Opfer statt Wahrheit") a possible alternative for escaping the shadowy thoughts ("Schattendenken")? Simply refusing to sleep and to defeat the nightmares in a permanent daydream ("Tag nach einer traumreichen Nacht") means certain defeat. The voices in your head ("Kopfstimme") will probably win anyway. People are generally weak, but somehow hope always allows them to survive ("Lebend lohnt es...") But who can honestly say that he’s living ?

After all, life is just a stage in between common sense and desire, lust and craving, life and death ("Dazwischen"). Both the very young and the very old are unable to escape the phantom of their fears ("Schwarzes Wesen"), therefore posing the question: Should a person be allowed to change or is it taboo to change something that others have already gotten used to? Isn’t it much worse to get accustomed to something than to take an active role in life and risk failing from time to time? „Zwischenzeit" is nothing more than melancholic interlude, but luckily life consists of lots of other moments. Let’s remember the nice ones...

We would like to thank all of you who have allowed us to give you a few pleasurable moments in life and who have given us the opportunity over the years to be able to artistically express that which many people prefer to repress – our feelings.

Whenever or wherever we happen to feel the need to express ourselves again, you’ll surely see and hear from us...

The album „Dazwischen" contains excerpts from the musical play "Schattendenken" – a project that we have been working on since 2002. Whoever would like to see this play has the opportunity to watch it on DVD. The DVD Box Set "Schattendenken" contains a feature length film version of "Schattendenken" as well as its live performance. Plus, it also includes a children’s book and comprehensive documentary material about the story of how "Schattendenken" was made.

Mindy Kumbalek & Oswald Henke
July 2005

The following people took part in the recording of the album "Dazwischen":

Mindy Kumbalek: Keyboards, Programming
Oswald Henke: Words, Loops
Susanne Reinhardt: Violin, Viola
Carsten Klatte: Guitars
Markus Köstner: Drums, Percussion
Michael Wollersheim: Bass, E-Guitar

All of the music and lyrics to this album were written and composed by Goethes Erben, with the exception of "Schwarzes Wesen" which is based on a melody by Bartholomäus Bastian Verdel. All songs were recorded by Mindy Kumbalek and Christian Käufl in Genom Studio and at "Skillaz". Mixed and mastered by Christial Käufl. Produced by Mindy Kumbalek.